276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Mina and the Undead

£3.995£7.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Parents should be aware that this is most definitely a young adult novel and is not suitable for younger children. I was sent a proof copy and I'll be honest, at first I was unsure how I was going to get on with it as it's not my usual genre but oh my goodness, as soon as I started it, I was hooked! She wants to explore New Orleans darkest secrets – vampire tours, seedy bars, spooky cemeteries, disturbing local myths. I did appreciate the well done diversity in the book though, that's the one thing you might have not found in a book from 2012.

I found it hilarious how Mina was thirsty for Jared on almost every page and really liked their developing romance. Yesterday a parent came over to tell me how impressed she was by the book fair and that you did a fabulous job of selling the books to the children first. There are a much wider cast of characters, some of which make a big impact with limited page time (I’m looking at you Della) but it is the location of the story that makes the biggest impression. Mina and the Undead takes its time in introducing the reader to a memorable cast of characters before throwing them headfirst into a chaotic and unpredictable story with a big heart and an even bigger body count. Its chapter lengths are relatively short to allow for reading breaks (but the chapter cliffhangers make it hard to put down).It’s on my bucket list to visit New Orleans one day and experience a slice of its rich history and culture. I was equally invested in the characters, with Mina being a new favourite MC for me (probably because she seems to love ALL the same things as me and kept referencing some of my favourite films and books). She can’t wait to explore the city’s darkest secrets – vampire tours, seedy bars, spooky cemeteries, disturbing local myths… And it gets even better when Mina lands a part-time job at a horror movie mansion and meets Jared, Libby’s gorgeous housemate, co-worker and fellow horror enthusiast. After securing a job at her sisters work place; the Mansion of Macabre where her sisters very attractive roommate Jared also works, things are about to take an unexpected turn. I really enjoyed this YA horror which took me back to my 90's teen days when I devoured every teen horror book that came out.

YA as a genre has evolved so much in the last ten years but this book sadly doesn't reflect all that change.For instance, one of the villains is a character we met only once before for two sentences who isn't even given any motivation for their crimes.

She'll be staying in the city for a few months to visit her estranged sister, Libby, who moved from their hometown, Whitby, in England, to New Orleans the prior year. The final 60 pages or so were an absolute whirlwind with plot twists that I did not see coming, perfectly setting Amy McCaw up for what I am sure will be an incredible sequel that I need NOW! I found myself having to make myself stop reading so I could get on with my day and then I was looking forward to sitting down so I could read more! I had no idea where the story was going to take us but it is a journey that is memorable and fun to read. If you are looking for a fun, fast paced story about vampires in the amazing setting that is New Orleans, you need to pick this up.

I honestly loved every minute of this book, I haven’t read a book in a good few months and this has absolutely kick-started my love of reading again ahhhh. During the summer, Mina visits Libby, her new roommates, Jared and Lucas and Libby's girlfriend Della, in dazzling "Crescent City". The story kept me on my toes with constant twist and forever changing my mind on who was the series killer (I was wrong 100% of the time).

Like I said before, it made me super nostalgic, and I ended up reading this with the Buffy the Vampire Slayer soundtrack on in the background. The unmissable YA Gothic horror of 2021, perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Stranger Things. There isn’t 1 thing I didn’t like in this book with the backdrop of New Orleans and the 90’s and horror references I knew from the first chapter this was a winner.This is a delicious and gruesome tale of the macabre, that is packed full of 1990’s pop culture details and is bound to appeal to fans of horror. Mina plans to spend the summer exploring all the famous parts of a city known for its myths and legends of vampires and killers, whilst also mending her relationship with her sister. I was absolutely in my element with all these fun nods to ‘my’ horror classics and as someone who grew up in the 1990s, I got a big kick out of them.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment